Further Street image of the front of the bank

About Us

In 1911, a fire swept through downtown Fayette, destroying most of the town. During the rebuilding, a business emerged. The State Bank and Trust Company, opened its doors in 1913. It adopted its current name, The Citizens Bank of Fayette in 1919.

Founded by Thomas Henry Robertson, Sr., The Citizens Bank has been led by three generations of the Robertson family. Thomas Henry Robertson, Sr. served as the first president. Followed by his two sons, Thomas Henry Robertson Jr. and John C. Robertson Sr., the bank’s second and third presidents, respectively. The fourth president was our beloved William C. “Bill” Robertson, son of Thomas Henry, until his retirement in 2014. John C. Robertson, Jr., currently serves as Senior Vice President and Chairman of the Board. Robert "Bob" Henry Robertson, brother of John, also served as Vice President until his passing in 2009. In 2014, Robert D. Mills was named president and CEO of the Citizens Bank.

The bank’s philosophy has not changed much since its founder advertised in the former Fayette Banner in 1913. The advertisement read: “We will appreciate your account, whether large or small, and solicit the business of farmers, wage-earners, and all persons desiring the assistance and accommodations of the bank.” Since 1913, our primary mission remains the same, to serve our customers and the needs of our community.

Convenient and Secure. Direct access to your money.